Tobermory Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation on Mull at Back Brae Lodge
Late Availability - we still have Summer Full Weeks free in June 2018, July 2018 and August 2018.

Make a Booking Send an Enquiry

Tobermory Holiday Reviews 2009

Mull & Tobermory Restaurant & Activity Reviews

 “We escaped in to Cafe Fish or the pub
which gave us a friendly, comfortable welcome. We also browsed at the beautiful trinkets, gifts and silver found in the local shops. Travelling up to Tobermory after disembarking the ferry on Mull was beautiful - definitely great picture opportunities so don't forget a camera!”
MS & TS - Newcastle Upon Tyne, England - November 2009

 “We did several walks and saw several otters
(not Elvis as he hasn't been seen recently), golden eagles and a distant white-tailed eagle, so we were very excited about that. We made good use of the many guides in the house, for wildlife and generally touring Mull. Unfortunately in November most of the tourist places are closed but we used the guides for interesting local information and the wildlife is year-round. Tobermory has all the shops needed for a self-catering stay. Next time I'll have to stay a full week to complete the Tobermory jigsaw!”
LH - Callander, Scotland - November 2009

 “We would like to recommend a trip that we found
highlighted in one of the maps found in the house. We went from Fishnish on the ferry to Lochaline, toured Ardnamurchan, visited the lighthouse at the Point and then caught the Kilchoan ferry back to Tobermory. Great! We also went over to Iona. Our holiday ended with a whale watching trip where we saw sea eagles, seals and much more. Very enjoyable.”
BH - Birmingham, England - September 2009

 “We had a lovely meal at Café Fish
and at the Indian too, and great pizza at the place above MacGochan's bar on the other side of the harbour (it is closed Monday and Tuesday), and great sandwiches from the Bakery - also went to a very nice café at Glengorm Castle.”
RB - Lancashire, England - September 2009

 “Our stay was very enjoyable,
the highlight being seeing an otter in Tobermory!”
SL & RB - Lancashire, England - September 2009

 “Iona was a big highlight for us from the historical point of view
and the fantastic beach on the north side. We had a couple of lovely dinners in Café Fish and I also saw and photographed the otter! As a photography nut I found that there were so many stunning views and potential images in the scenery around Mull that I was spoilt for choice. We also sampled Mull cheese, visited Tobermory Chocolate, and I've brought back some of the heather soap from the Isle Of Mull Soap Company so that I can relive my holiday each time I smell it.”
CM - East Lothian, Scotland - September 2009

 “An Tobar Arts Centre was very interesting for us, as harp-playing-fans.
We took the Lighthouse walk, and a walk through the Aros Park. We have been impressed by that overwhelming nature.”
JM - Weil am Rhein, Germany - September 2009

 “There is a nice tea shop on Ulva
which does very special-looking lunches, and is trying to get a 'small restaurant of the year' award. It is a beautiful island to walk on.”
DW - Nottingham, England - August 2009

 “We went to Iona,
and pony riding on the beach at Killiechronan, which was wonderful.”
LW - Surrey, England - May 2009

 “We really enjoyed the rail journey to Torosay Castle.

SG - Fife, Scotland - May 2009

 “We were there with a 3-year-old.
She loved visiting all the coloured houses from Balamory - a quick Google search should find the locations of the actual houses. We visited at Easter and the weather was amazing. Recommendations - the beach at Calgary (fantastic), climbing Ben More, and the cafe above the tourist information building which we only discovered on the last day.”
PN - Sheffield, England - April 2009

 “We loved the Tobermory Deli and Mull Butcher.
The Isle Of Mull Hotel spa (Craignure) was very reasonably priced and ideal to spend an hour whilst waiting for the ferry home.”
AA - Aberdeen, Scotland - February 2009

 “We visit Mull nearly every year for the Tour of Mull Rally.
We find that all of the shops are good, especially the Tobermory Chocolate Shop which has good coffee and a wide selection of chocolates to choose from. Also Mull Pottery does a wide selection of food and is very tasty. We do enjoy the wide selection of walks that are available all over Mull, are suitable for all capabilities, and the dog certainly enjoys them.”
HK - Elgin, Scotland - January 2009

Tobermory Holiday House Reviews from Back Brae Lodge Guests

 “Both my husband and I enjoyed our stay in Back Brae Lodge.
We were visiting Mull for a wedding at Glengorm Castle, which was situated in a remote but beautiful part of the island. Back Brae Lodge gave us that 'home-from-home' feeling - although it was just my husband and myself, the apartment could comfortably accommodate a family. Access to the local shops and parking was very good. I have already recommended staying at Back Brae Lodge to our family. ”
MS & TS - Newcastle Upon Tyne, England - November 2009

 “The house was very good.
Clean, well designed, warm and very well equipped, both with 'domestic' items and entertainment kit. Each day we returned with wet clothes and boots but the drying area was ideal, everything being dry for the next day, making it a good place to stay year-round. Parking was not a problem. The flexibility to book it for less than a week (off-season) was one of the reasons we chose it, as it allowed us to use a 5-day return ticket on the ferry and made it a very reasonably-priced break. Since it was 30 years since we last visited Mull, it was like a first visit and we just loved it, so will be back. We would use Back Brae Lodge if staying in Tobermory again, and would recommend it to others.”
LH - Callander, Scotland - November 2009

 “Got to say, its a cracking little house.
Perfect for what we needed. Very keen to come back and stay here. Thank you very much.”
CB - Castle Douglas, Scotland - October 2009

 “We would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge.
The situation was ideal and we were able to park within twenty yards of the house. The lodge was very comfortable, cosy and warm and we would recommend it to anyone who is going to Tobermory. The upstairs was spacious and bright and the downstairs drying area was great. ”
BH - Birmingham, England - September 2009

 “We had a fabulous time in Tobermory, thank you.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Back Brae Lodge to anyone coming to Mull.”
RB - Lancashire, England - September 2009

 “We’ve had a brilliant holiday.
Mull is a fantastic place and I wish we'd had longer to explore everywhere. Back Brae Lodge has been a lovely place to stay. The open plan area has been really cosy and a great place to relax after lots of walking and occasional bouts of horizontal rain. It had everything that we could possible need. When we get an opportunity to return to Mull we'll definitely book again. The flat was lovely and was actually better equipped in some ways than our own home, big TV with digital channels was a novelty for us. We've really appreciated the standard of the house and also all the handy notes, local guides and thoughtful homely touches.”
CM - East Lothian, Scotland - September 2009

 “We enjoyed staying at Back Brae Lodge.
It's definitely a great place to be in Tobermory, in terms of situation - you are close to the ferry, to to the 'promenade', to everything. All necessary devices and furnishings are given, even up to a dishwasher and a washing machine. That makes it really perfect! The Lodge itself is very bright, clean, convenient - a very nice atmosphere, absolutely suitable to feel at home. Tobermory is really picturesque and nice, no 'trendies' or 'high society', just normal people, friendly, warm, who like to spend their holidays peacefully. Thank you so much for patiently and kindly answering all our questions and helping us to get things done and so to make us feel really well here! It has been a wonderful and great time at Back Brae Lodge, and we can only recommend that accommodation for everyone who wants to take a first glance to the Inner Hebrides and its culture.”
JM - Weil am Rhein, Germany - September 2009

 “Thanks very much for a great stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We particularly liked the big space of the open plan upper floor - great if you decide to spend a rainy day at home. We really appreciated all the home-from-home touches like the books and the jigsaws. And the computer access was a bonus. We'd happily stay at Back Brae Lodge again and will be recommending it to friends.”
SB - Jersey - August 2009

 “Thanks very much for a great stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We particularly liked the big space of the open plan upper floor - great if you decide to spend a rainy day at home. We really appreciated all the home-from-home touches like the books and the jigsaws. And the computer access was a bonus. We'd happily stay at Back Brae Lodge again and will be recommending it to friends.”
SB - Jersey - August 2009

 “Really enjoyed the break, everything was fine.
A lively week. I'm sure we would look to come back to Mull again. Many thanks.”
KS - Sunderland, England - August 2009

 “We had a lovely holiday and the Lodge suited our needs perfectly.
Plenty of space and brilliant location.”
DW - Nottingham, England - August 2009

 “We are very happy to be here.
Great kitchen and thankful to be so near the harbour. Everything looks great and we are heading for the harbour to find something to eat (and see the otter). Mull is sensationally beautiful.”
BC & RC - United States - July 2009

 “We have had a great week here.
The flat is bang on location and facility-wise. It's a great place and we would definitely recommend to others.”
SA - Newcastle Upon Tyne, England - June 2009

 “Our stay was very enjoyable
- the highlight being seeing an otter in Tobermory! The house was very nice and we have no complaints. Everything was great and we would certainly come again.”
SL & PE - Lancashire, England - May 2009

 “Thank you very much for letting us stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We found it ideal for what we wanted. Plenty of room, clean and modern amenities, a proper home from home. We saw all the island during our stay and travelled as far as Iona. I cannot think of anything you could change to make it a more enjoyable location. Again, thanks, and we will be back in a couple of years, I promise.”
PE - Blackpool, England - May 2009

 “We have been most impressed with the place and your information pack.
We have really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to others.”
LW - Surrey, England - May 2009

 “We had a great stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We would definitely consider it again. The central location was ideal both in terms of exploring the island but also proximity to shops, pubs etc. We thought the house was really well-equipped both in terms of technology with the TV and broadband and also in terms of games, books, kitchen equipment, hair dryer etc. There would be plenty to keep you occupied on a rainy day. The central location was ideal both in terms of exploring the island but also proximity to shops and pubs. Whilst we had a bit of a sickly trip to Staffa, when we all got back to the lodge we had a hot bath and a DVD and felt much better! I loved the modern interior and open plan kitchen/diner which was really sociable and has made me really want to do up our own house!”
SG - Fife, Scotland - May 2009

 “We had a great time!
The apartment was perfect. It is ideally located just off the Main Street of Tobermory, which was very handy for popping down to the Co-Op and the deli for provisions. The apartment was in excellent condition and had lots of space. We visited at Easter and the weather was amazing.”
PN - Sheffield, England - April 2009

 “We had a lovely stay in Mull and were delighted with the accommodation.
It was lovely having so much space (especially for drying our walking gear) and the cottage was very well equipped. We particularly appreciated the selection of maps, books and games. We will be sure to keep you in mind for any future trips to Mull.”
AA - Aberdeen, Scotland - February 2009

 “I go away fairly often but generally stay in hotels.
Staying at Back Brae Lodge has changed my opinion of self catering breaks completely. Had everything you could have wished for, apartment was very well equipped, immaculately clean, very spacious and extremely well presented, the double bed even more comfortable than the one we have at home. Would have been more than happy to stay longer. Have never been to Mull before but will definitely be coming back (going to do the whale watching that we didn't have time for).”
RA - Leeds, England - February 2009

 “I would like to thank you for providing such a fine little gem of a house,
so close to everything we needed. I have visited Tobermory on quite a few occasions and have to say I may not stay 'up the hill' again. We found everything to our liking, from the modern easy-to-use kitchen appliances to the slightly more complicated audio-visual box in the corner. We will recommend Back Brae Lodge to all relatives and friends, although fighting the urge to keep this beauty to ourselves. Look forward to a return visit in the near future. ”
PM - Lanarkshire, Scotland - February 2009

 “The house is fine.
Very comfy, spacious, warm and in an ideal location.”
HK - Moray, Scotland - January 2009