Tobermory Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation on Mull at Back Brae Lodge
Late Availability - we still have Summer Full Weeks free in June 2018, July 2018 and August 2018.

Make a Booking Send an Enquiry

Tobermory Holiday Reviews 2012

Mull & Tobermory Restaurant & Activity Reviews

 “We climbed Ben More on the best day of weather and had fantastic views.
We loved Tobermory and its shops and restaurants (shame the butcher no longer exists). At this time of year [December] it's as well to get to the restaurants by about 7.45pm latest, as it is such a quiet time of year - if they don't have a party booked then they may close early, for understandable reasons. As keen bird watchers we were sorry not to see any sea eagles but we can save these for when we visit again, as no doubt we will! We went to Calgary Bay - it even stopped raining for an hour or two as we walked out to one of the raised points above the bay - and also drove right down to the far south west and visited the Ardalanish weaving and woollens workshop and farm shop, which is all organic. Remarkable! And the scenery on the way there and back was fantastic - even in the driving rain. We learned about Tobermory Cat but unfortunately were unable to meet the star of Tobermory, the weather being too inclement for this world celebrity to be car surfing on the streets at this time.”
FL & MB - Great Chesterford, England - December 2012

 “In terms of how we found Tobermory and Mull in general, we loved the place!
It was my first visit and Mull came highly recommended by friends and family - it totally lived up to expectations. Although we came out of season, therefore some of the restaurants and boats trips were closed, November was a brilliant time to visit. The scenery and colours were stunning, the island was so quiet and no midges! Furthermore, despite a few days of bad weather, which you could get any time of year, we were also lucky enough to enjoy a couple of days of beautiful sunshine. Tobermory was a fantastic base - we particularly enjoyed the Mishnish (pub) and the Bakery, and so convenient to have the Co-Op and Clydesdale Bank close to hand. We came to Mull primarily for the scenery, wildlife and walking and none of these things disappointed (apart from the fact that we didn't spot any blooming eagles - we'll just have to come back!). One of our highlights was a day walking on Ulva - absolutely stunning. We also loved Calgary Beach and the Loch na Keal area (where we saw an otter).”
RW & PM - Derbyshire, England - November 2012

 “Your wee dram from the Tobermory distillery
was toasted at the summit of Ben More (in the fog!) and made the descent that much easier.”
JR - Devon, England - October 2012

 “Had a great time on Mull.
Granddaughter loved the place and enjoyed the walks we took her on. Must compliment the Bakery - I have never known my husband to eat as much bread as he did, so much so that we bought two loaves to bring home, and one for my son. Hope we will get back again one day.”
EM - Lanarkshire, Scotland - October 2012

 “Thank you for all the information
for getting around Tobermory and where to go and see places. We walked to the lighthouse, that was tricky with mud due to the rain. Tobermory people are so lovely and polite, and best of all is the Tobermory cat who lies on a red car lazing around watching all the visitors go by.”
CT - Glasgow, Scotland - September 2012

 “We were lucky enough to see otters.
We hired bikes from Brown's the hardware shop and did one long day cycle ride, which was a great way to see the island.”
JS & JS - Sheffield, England - September 2012

 “We’ve just been round part of the island
for the day with Finlay Christine of Tall Tales Tours - strongly recommended. ”
IB - Buckinghamshire, England - June 2012

 “In Tobermory, we loved Cafe Fish, friendly staff and wonderful seafood.
We were spoilt for choice. You need to book though as it is very popular and not over-large. Other nice places to eat are The Mishnish Hotel, The Galleon Grill which is just off Main Street and the Fish & Chip Van on the pier is super too. Mull is very beautiful and very peaceful. We particularly loved Calgary Beach - fabulous! If you go there, call in at the nearby Calgary Art In Nature to see Matthew Reade's stunning wood sculptures. You can get a nice light meal there too. If you enjoy gardening, a visit to Lucy MacKenzie's fabulous garden Lip na Cloiche near Ulva Ferry is an absolute must. It's amazing - you wouldn't believe what you can do with a load of old forks, bits of machinery, broken china and more! Oh and it's free to look round - and you can buy lovely plants and gifts from her as well.”
JW & RW - Perthshire, Scotland - May 2012

 “MacGochans had really excellent food
(and I'd say we enjoyed it even more than the Mishnish, despite it being a lot cheaper) and the Indian opposite the cottage was great on the day we got back from the day trip to Staffa and it started pouring of rain. The Chinese closest to the cottage was also really good, the mixed seafood I got there was excellent while my husband really enjoyed his Thai curry. We also couldn't resist hot chocolate and cakes at the Tobermory Chocolate Company on more than one occasion! The Co-Op also had eveything we needed for day-to-day. We took our baby called Iona to see the Isle of Iona and on the way there took the coastal route the opposite direction around the island from Craignure to Fionnphort. Some of the scariest driving of the trip but rewarded with some of the most dramatic landscapes both around the coast and the road up through the mountains. The ferries were very regular and a very easy ride and as we could easily take the pram on the ferry we had a lovely, easy walk around the nunnery, Abbey and Iona pier area. We were even treated to a double-rainbow (I've never seen two rainbows together before) across the hills on our drive back to Tobermory. We also went to the Ulva Ferry terminal and took the trip out with Turus Mara to Staffa and Fingal's Cave and saw hundreds of puffins (I also wanted to see Ulva as my Uncle on Tiree had told me that the Tiree MacArthurs, my maiden name, originally came from there and we got great views on the way to Staffa). It was definitely a baby in a sling trip rather than a pram but well worth it. We even saw some bottlenose dolphins on the way back. One warm evening after baby was asleep, Daddy babysat while I took a walk along the coastal path to Nan Gall Lighthouse (the path is a bit precarious for a 5 month baby which is why I went alone but I desperately wanted to go there as my Dad named his engineering company of over 30 years 'Nan Gall' Energy Systems after it). Wow it was everything I could imagine and more. The walk felt truly magical, the sun was beginning to set and the views were absolutely spectacular out to sea. The narrowness of the paths and having to climb under a few fallen trees only added to the feeling of being at one with nature. When you turned the bend and caught the glimpse of Nan Gall lighthouse glimmering in the distance it was a tremendous moment, an astoundingly beautiful view, and spurred you on to visit up close. My sister loved the pics so much she immediately took one for her Facebook cover and asked if I could send the high quality version of one as she is going to have it printed to put up framed in her house, she described it as walking into the world of Lord of the Rings! Mull is up there on my list of most beautiful places in the world along with places like Machu Pichu in Peru and the wildlife of Costa Rica. It made me proud to be Scottish!”
DW - Chipperfield, England - May 2012

 “We went out to the local eateries
Cafe Fish, MacGochans, The Western Isles Hotel, and had fish and chips at the harbour. All very good - all I can say is the island was a touch of magic, can't wait to return.”
MM - Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland - May 2012

 “We can’t praise Café Fish enough
- excellent food, service and ambiance, one of the most enjoyable meals we have ever had. Been to Mull and Tobermory a few times now, we always enjoy our stay and love the walks, the scenery and the boat trips.”
RO - Edinburgh, Scotland - May 2012

 “What we particularly enjoyed about Mull,
apart from the stunning scenery, was the beach at Calgary. What a jewel of a place! It must be Scotland's best kept secret! We were there in early May, so slightly off season, and we had the beach virtually to ourselves. It is a beautiful beach, with soft, brilliant white sand and gorgeous clear water, and several picnic tables dotted about. There's nothing else there but the birds and the sheep, and because you have to get there on a single track road with passing places it takes a while to get there - but so worth it - so take a packed lunch! The weather was really warm and sunny, and we could have been on a tropical beach. It was stunningly beautiful. If you like to try local beers, go to McGochans bar. They have an absolutely delicious locally brewed beer that is matured in chocolate infused barrels - it is absolutely delicious! The food there is good too. The other good thing about Tobermory is present-shopping. You can buy gifts from £3 - local lavender soap from the wonderfully scented soap shop - to over £300 for beautiful amber jewellery from the silversmiths. Every shop is individual, so you can get things you can't get anywhere else, some of it made right there in Mull.”
BG - Morecambe, England - May 2012

 “Extremely impressed with the standard of food in the local restaurants.
We ate in Cafe Fish, the Mishnish and MacGochans, all of which were excellent.”
JC - Somerset, England - April 2012

 “I loved Tobermory and the whole of Mull.
Stepping out early morning and having a walk around the harbour, picking up some rolls and being close to get shopping and food was great. The local fish shop is a must! I bought local salmon and scallops and they were beautiful. I took the bus from Tobermory to Fionnphort, to get the ferry to Iona, and it was a beautiful drive and really enjoyed the scenery, more relaxing than driving. I also did a trip with Staffa Tours to the Treshnish Isles and Staffa, and had a fantastic day. This was made even more enjoyable by Paul and Ross who answered endless questions and gave lots of information. If I came back I would do this trip again! I went on a drive to Dervaig as well. The scenery everywhere is beautiful and I can understand why people return. Although I am not a big walker or sporty I really enjoyed just being there.”
MC - Broughty Ferry, Scotland - April 2012

 “We thought the array of shops and eateries in Tobermory were excellent.
The Fish and Chip van on the harbour supplied a tasty meal for us on our first night, and Café Fish (which we booked the night before) provided an outstandingly good meal on the Saturday evening; we would warmly recommend both. The Tobermory Chocolatier and the Deli on Main Street won top marks for snacks. The kids (teenagers) voted our trips to Iona and Calgary beach as highlights of their stay, and we also had a good night out at the Mull Theatre just a mile or two up the road.”
BA - Perth, Scotland - April 2012

 “Tobermory is very pretty and we just enjoyed walking around the island.
Would recommend the walk to Aros Park in particular, and we walked to Calgary Bay via the Bellachroy Hotel for lunch which was good. The Tobermory Distillery tour was also good and the Isle of Mull cheese farm shop. We ate in Cafe Fish two nights and it was absolutely delicious. Would also recommend the fresh rolls in the bakery - it's the only place you can buy bottles of Mull ale as well.”
KG - Edinburgh, Scotland - March 2012

 “We are big foodies and find the Mishnish restaurant ‘5 Star’.
I would recommend that to anyone.”
JW - Aberdeen, Scotland - January 2012

Tobermory Holiday House Reviews from Back Brae Lodge Guests

 “Thanks again for a wonderful stay in Back Brae Lodge.
It really is the perfect location for a Winter break. For people looking at accommodation in Tobermory, I can't emphasise enough how convenient it is to be tucked just behind Main Street, so all the wonderful eating and drinking options are on the doorstep. Back Brae Lodge is also so well equipped for inclement weather, with the WiFi, satellite TV, books and games. ”
DS - Edinburgh, Scotland - December 2012

 “We were very pleased indeed with our stay at Back Brae Lodge
and found all the instructions and advice very useful and helpful. It was extremely convenient for access to everything we needed and we really had no problems at all. We would definitely consider staying again and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Best wishes and thank you for helping to make our trip such a good one.”
FL & MB - Great Chesterford, England - December 2012

 “Just to say thanks
- we had a great stay - Back Brae Lodge is fantastic. If you're planning a trip to the Hebrides then the Isle of Mull should be one place to visit. And if you visit Mull then staying at the magical Back Brae Lodge in Tobermory is a must. It is ideally located in the centre of town, has all the facilities you could wish for and the owner Kenny could not be more helpful.”
AB - Croydon, England - November 2012

 “We thought the flat was superb.
We had a great time despite the weather and even met the local otter walking down the main street.”
LA - Borders, Scotland - November 2012

 “We had a fantastic break at Back Brae Lodge - thank you!
The property itself was perfect for us - brilliantly equipped with everything we needed (fantastic to have a washing machine and tumble drier to sort our things after days out walking in the best the Mull weather had to throw at us!) and the instructions for all the appliances were clear and easy to follow. The house was spotless, comfortable and very spacious for two people. In addition, it was a real bonus having the maps, walking books and bird guides - real thought had gone into equipping the house. Finally the welcome pack was a lovely surprise and a real treat! Location-wise the property was brilliant - so convenient for all the bars, shops and restaurants in Tobermory, yet managed also to be totally quiet and peaceful. All in all a fantastic break - we'll definitely be back to Back Brae Lodge! The property was faultless - fantastic location, brilliantly equipped, spotlessly clean and really warm and comfortable. Thank you!”
RW & PM - Derbyshire, England - November 2012

 “We thoroughly enjoyed our stay
and thought the apartment was great. We regularly book independent self catering accommodation and have stayed in apartments in Scotland, France, Spain and Italy. Usually when you arrive at these places you walk through the door, your heart sinks to find that the owner's description on the web is hyped up and you're always a bit disappointed. No so Back Brae Lodge - it's the first place we've stayed where it lives up to the description - actually it's better than the description. Warm, bright, comfortable and a perfect base for exploring the island. I guess that's down to the website where there are plenty of clear photos and information and the house notes which are very useful. We'd definitely book again.”
JR - Devon, England - October 2012

 “Your house is a ‘hidden gem’,
would recommend it to friends and family. We would have loved to stay longer as I want to do research into my family tree. House was warm and comfy, shopping nearby, plenty hot water, nice layout, novelty going downstairs to bed instead of up.”
EM - Lanarkshire, Scotland - October 2012

 “We were all happy with the house…
don't think there was anything really that could be improved?”
SL - Peterhead, Scotland - October 2012

 “Just to let you know,
we had a lovely stay at Back Brae Lodge, the house was lovely, clean and inviting and was so close to all shops, restaurants, pubs... such a lovely place, Tobermory. The house was warm enough, plenty of hot water, clean towels and bedsheets. A great all rounder stay and will recommend Back Brae Lodge to family and friends. Thanking you so much for letting us stay in your lovely house. We will return again.”
CT - Glasgow, Scotland - September 2012

 “We had a great holiday.
Back Brae Lodge was fabulous.”
LS - Grangemouth, Scotland - September 2012

 “Many thanks for the rent of the Lodge.
We found it to be very clean, comfortable and warm, and perfect for the two of us. It was wonderfully kitted out - we cooked most evenings and found everything we needed. Being able to follow your helpful instructions about heating etc made everything very straightforward. It was the first time I had been to Mull and we had a wonderful time.”
JS & JS - Sheffield, England - September 2012

 “We thoroughly enjoyed.
My wife and I wanted to commend you on the standard of accommodation and the facilities offered. You really have thought of everything for the holidaymaker, and the position of the cottage is ideal. We would thoroughly recommend both the Isle of Mull and Back Brae Lodge to anyone looking for a happy and varied holiday in a very homely and well looked-after property.”
AW - Swansea, Wales - June 2012

 “Back Brae Lodge was the perfect place to stay in Tobermory,
close to the harbour and Main Street with its shops, cafes and restaurants, but very quiet. The accommodation was lovely, spacious and airy and well stocked with everything we needed and more - like the Internet etc. The bedroom being downstairs was lovely and cool - important when the weather heated up (yes it did!). We will definitely be back to Mull and would hope to be able to stay in Back Brae Lodge again.”
JW & RW - Perthshire, Scotland - May 2012

 “The location of the cottage was perfect,
just a few moments walk from the Tobermory pier and restaurants, which was particularly helpful on the rainy days when we could just run around the corner with baby and still get out. With respect to the cottage itself, I had debated whether to book one of the seafront apartments or your cottage, but as you had some outside space and my husband is a smoker went for yours. He was really glad as he could sit out there leisurely in the evening and it is quite private. We really liked the decor and as you would expect with a baby having things like the washing machine, drier and microwave were really helpful! The double room was also a really good size so I could fit the travel cot in fine. We also really appreciated the board games and have become very addicted to IQ2 but were very sad to find they are no longer making it when we searched online for it when we got home! We had a truly wonderful trip Kenny and will be sure to come again.”
DW - Chipperfield, England - May 2012

 “I would like to thank you for a most enjoyable stay.
We had a lovely time and the accommodation was first class, very roomy.”
MM - Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland - May 2012

 “Lovely little house, great few days break
with the good weather being a bonus, we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.”
RO - Edinburgh, Scotland - May 2012

 “We have just arrived back home after a fantastic week in Tobermory.
First of all, can I compliment you on Back Brae Lodge. It was a perfect location, just yards from the quayside, shops, bars and restaurants. The property is a veritable tardis - from outside it looks quite small, but when we walked into the open plan lounge I just thought wow! The accommodation was superb - the open plan living area is extremely spacious, light and airy, well equipped and modern. When we arrived the house was spotlessly clean, and we were pleasantly surprised that previous guests had left things like coffee and tea bags, and cleaning things like washing up liquid and soap powder, which although we didn't use all of them, I've no doubt will be very useful to other users of Back Brae Lodge. So my advice to anyone planning to stay at Back Brae Lodge is, don't fill up your car with this sort of stuff, wait till you get there and you'll probably find there's most things you need and if there's anything else you do need there's always the well stocked Co-op just down Main Street. Towels and bedding were plentiful, there was always plenty of hot water for baths and the shower was also good. You have thought of everything, and the utility area is brilliant for drying off wellies, dogs and wet washing. I also thought it was very thoughtful of you to provide all those books, games and DVDs as well as the booklet that gave details of walks and what was going on around Mull. There was even a box of spare batteries, presumably for the remotes! We did one of the walks in your booklet, to the Lighthouse, which was a lovely walk for people like us who are not seasoned walkers at all. Parking was not a problem either. There was always somewhere to park within yards of the house. The weather throughout our stay was warm and sunny so we had little need of heating except in the later evening, so it worked fine for us. We were absolutely over the moon with Back Brae Lodge and we have totally fallen in love with Tobermory and the Isle of Mull. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. We will be back, and when we do return it will be to Back Brae Lodge without a doubt. So we would both like to thank you for making our first visit to Mull such an enjoyable experience. We had amazingly good weather too, which made it a fantastic and very memorable week away. I could go on and on about our brief stay in Tobermory but I can honestly say it has been one of the best UK holidays we have ever had. I wish we were still there! Hubby is already talking about selling up and moving up there!”
BG - Morecambe, England - May 2012

 “We had a great time in Mull.
We have stayed in lots of different self catering accommodation and found yours to be the best equipped, very comfortable and homely and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful, we will certainly be returning to Scotland in the future.”
JC - Somerset, England - April 2012

 “The position of Back Brae Lodge was what attracted me when I found it on the Net.
I wanted to be near the harbour but wasn't worried about not having a view. Kitchen was really well equipped and found all I needed. And was familiar with the cook top... it took a bit of getting used to, but once you do, it is great. Bathroom was lovely and clean and was good to have cleaning products to use while there. The table was marvellous - I could spread out with the laptop, and have everything to hand, and I really enjoyed the sense of space. The TV was good, and the Humax - well I have one so could operate it! So all in all if I were to return to Mull I would want to stay at Back Brae Lodge without a doubt. Also I have to add and thank Kenny for being available to ask questions - that was greatly appreciated. So thanks for a great holiday.”
MC - Broughty Ferry, Scotland - April 2012

 “We spent a very happy four days on Mull at Back Brae Lodge
and were delighted to enjoy clear blue skies and sunshine from beginning to end - most unusual for a Scottish April! Back Brae Lodge was superbly situated, and it was great to descend the Lodge steps each morning and immediately view the harbour and sparkling sea. We thought that your accommodation was first class. You have made creative and imaginative use of the space, and we thought it a restful place to stay. It was beautifully warm to come home to, and also spotlessly clean and comfortable. A lot of thought had gone into the furnishings, appliances and goods for visitors, and this was much appreciated. The booklet of information was well laid out and answered any questions we had, and your supply of books and leaflets, plus the comments of previous guests, were all helpful. Congratulations on achieving a self-catering retreat on Mull which is of the highest standard and in a fabulous location for the holidaymaker on Mull. We shall certainly be returning!”
BA - Perth, Scotland - April 2012

 “We loved Back Brae Lodge.
I loved it being tucked into the cliff and being right behind the main street. It has loads of space, everything we needed and was clean and cosy. Having the Freeview and wi-fi was great. No complaints. ”
KG - Edinburgh, Scotland - March 2012

 “I’d just like to say thank you
for accommodating us as I know our booking was rather last minute. We found Back Brae Lodge to be extremely comfortable and homely, and was perfectly situated for our requirements. We had a fabulous few days, experienced the magic of Mull, saw a wide range of wildlife and totally fell in love with the Island.”
BT - Cumbria, England - January 2012

 “Thank you for letting us stay for those nights, it was great.
We have been coming to Tobermory for sixteen years at New Year and your place has been the comfiest yet. And no hills to climb - we are both getting on so do appreciate the closeness to the pubs, shops and restaurants.”
JW - Aberdeen, Scotland - January 2012