Tobermory Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation on Mull at Back Brae Lodge
Late Availability - we still have available stays in August 2018.

Make a Booking Send an Enquiry

Tobermory Holiday Reviews 2013

Mull & Tobermory Restaurant & Activity Reviews

 “We were extremely lucky with the variety of wildlife we managed to see
on our six days. We saw White-tailed Eagles, Red Deer, Otters, Herons, Seals, Hen Harriers, fabulous Highland cattle and not forgetting McGinty(?) the wonderful Tobermory cat. We had a great two-hour trip with Sea Life Surveys, where Iain and Ewan were excellent guides and pointed out creatures that we would have missed had they not been with us. We loved Calgary beach which we went to on a wild weather day, and the Calgary Art Gallery, tea room and sculpture trail. We liked the walk to the Lighthouse, even though it was a real sunshine and showers day, and also Aros Park with the unexpected and very spectacular waterfall (remembering we had had quite a lot of rain that week!). We would also recommend Am Birlinn restaurant where we had a very tasty late lunch and the best homemade pavlova I have ever tasted! A good meal of Haggis, Neeps 'n' Tatties was enjoyed by the two men in the family at the Mishnish, and we all enjoyed the beer at McGochan's, which apparently comes from a chocolate lined barrel (can this be true!). Tobermory was an excellent centre for our holiday. Everything was close at hand and was well appointed with its restaurants, pubs, bakery, Co-Op and various gift shops. We had very mixed weather on our holiday from sunshine to torrential downpours but it didn't distract from our enjoyment. We just dressed up in our waterproofs and walking boots and off we went into some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever had the pleasure of being amongst! All in all a fabulous holiday which exceeded our expectations and yes, at some point we fully intend to come back!”
LD & ID - Sudbury, England - November 2013

 “Mull itself is incredibly beautiful
and Calgary Bay is definitely worth a visit. On the outskirts of Tobermory, Aros Park is also a lovely area to explore and perfect for a 3-year-old to burn off his excess energy.”
RH - Motherwell, Scotland - October 2013

 “As well as the Balamory house tour,
we also did whale watching with Sea Life Surveys (amazing), a boat trip to Iona which was magical, crabbing in the harbour, lots of walks at Glengorm and all the laminated walks in your folder. We used the Co-Op a lot to self-cater and also had a nice takeaway from the Indian opposite as well as the obligatory fish and chips from the van, which were excellent. Our only meal out was a lunch at Glengorm which was delicious, we can recommend the Ploughman's with Mull Cheddars! Overall we had an amazing break.”
AG - Stockport, England - August 2013

 “As our main interest is wildlife and photography
we had many excellent sightings of golden, white tailed eagles, otters, red and fallow deer and lots of other bird species.”
CS - Devon, England - July 2013

 “As to Mull, much depends on expectations
and the physical ability to enjoy the best of the landscape. We enjoyed our trip to Staffa with Turus Mara and were lucky enough to be able to land and explore the cave and puffin burrows. We were also exceptionally lucky on our Silver Swift trip to see Bottlenose Dolphins, a large pod of dolphins, porpoise, a white-tailed eagle, a variety of other sea birds and a basking shark. Only disappointment was the Cafe Fish and the well-done rolled fillets of sole.”
PT - Oxfordshire, England - July 2013

 “We went to Mishdish four times - very good
- but were very disappointed in Cafe Fish. We went to Iona and Ulva, lovely islands.”
AB - York, England - June 2013

 “Recommendations would be:
Café Fish - wonderful food understated; visit to Iona, particularly the northern sand beach rather than the southern; Ulva not so really. Would highlight to people that they should book restaurants if they want to and leave phone numbers, as we nearly came unstuck at the beginning of the week.”
RS - Manchester, England - June 2013

 “We booked a distillery tour
and bought the superb Ledaig. We thought Tobermory the best of the Western Isles towns/harbours.”
CB & RB - Merseyside, England - May 2013

 “We now know the island very well
and that experience has only served to ensure that we will return for a longer visit. We both love seafood and found the restaurants very good, in particular Cafe Fish. The museum, although small, is filled with very interesting material and a great place to spend an hour on a very stormy day!”
MT - Blackford, Scotland - April 2013

 “My Australian friends were in Heaven
to be staying there and loved every minute of the village and surrounding area. We drove down to the ferry to Iona and next day headed to Calgary and the arts centre and cafe and beach. The food was great everywhere bar the Indian!”
LJ - Rutherglen, Scotland - April 2013

 “We really fell in love with Mull, and Tobermory in particular.
Cafe Fish is perfect as far as I'm concerned, we went there two nights running! Outstanding, and the fish and chips from the van on the harbour were great too. We also went on a guided wildlife tour, which I would highly recommend. We went with Mull Wildlife Tours, Pete Hall, who was fantastic. He was incredibly knowledgeable, witty, warm, friendly and we had a brilliant day out with him. It was a great way to get a 'feel' for the island and we spent the rest of our time, following a similar route in order to see as much wildlife as we could cope with. The only thing I would say is the island could really do with a few more public toilets! The west side of the island didn't appear to have any at all and my heartfelt thanks go out to the lovely lady on the shop at Pennyghael for allowing me to use hers! Basically, we felt as though we had arrived in paradise. The views were awesome (a word often misused but absolutely correct in this instance), the wildlife was fascinating, varied and abundant, and the people were so friendly and helpful. A truly beautiful place which we hope to come back to in the not too distant future. ”
CL - Taunton, England - April 2013

 “Luckily, the weather was fantastic throughout our stay,
which meant that we were able to take advantage of the maps provided in the house and venture out on a few walks. Just by the Rubha nan Gall Lighthouse, North of Tobermory, we were fortunate enough to spot a grey seal sunbathing on the rocks. The Aros Park walk, which starts off by the Distillery, was also pleasant.”
HW - St Andrews, Scotland - February 2013

 “February can be iffy weather-wise
but we enjoyed a walk in Aros Park (not too long for children!) and we had two tasty takeaways from the Indian restaurant opposite the house.”
JW & MP - Glasgow, Scotland - February 2013

Tobermory Holiday House Reviews from Back Brae Lodge Guests

 “We had a fabulous six days at Back Brae Lodge
and wouldn't hesitate in booking again. ”
LD & ID - Sudbury, England - November 2013

 “We have just returned from a five-day stay at Back Brae Lodge
and found it to be an ideal base to explore the island of Mull. The accommodation met all of our needs and was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The location was great too, just a few steps away to the main street of Tobermory with a wide selection of eateries and lovely shops. We had a fantastic time and hope to make a return visit soon.”
RH - Motherwell, Scotland - October 2013

 “We thoroughly enjoyed our time on Mull
and the accommodation was superb and suited us perfectly. I have no issues with it, other than the lack of a hot tub on the terrace and a maid to make me cocktails while I lounged, it was faultless. Thank you!”
DH - Northants, England - October 2013

 “We had a wonderful four days and truly loved Back Brae Lodge
and would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Mull. We loved the space and facilities which were provided, and the location in Tobermory is amazing, so handy for everything - all in all we had a great stay in the Lodge, many thanks.”
MA - Dunoon, Scotland - October 2013

 “We really enjoyed our stay in Back Brae Lodge thanks.
Everything was fantastic... Can't think of any improvements. Had been to Mull before and it was still as beautiful. Can't wait to come back!”
AD - Staffordshire, England - September 2013

 “Back Brae Lodge is a great place to stay,
so convenient for all you need from the self catering aspect and for eating out. Kenny has thought of everything with information on where to eat, what to do, especially useful for the first time visitor to Mull. Even the intricacies of the fan oven etc were detailed! I would recommend Back Brae Lodge whole heartedly.”
JB - Lincolnshire, England - September 2013

 “We had a great holiday.
The Lodge was warm and very comfortable. I enjoy coming up and staying in Back Brae Lodge for my September break, for the local Mod. I will let my friends and family know about the house, for their holiday. Thank you once again.”
LS - Grangemouth, Scotland - September 2013

 “Thanks for use of the Lodge,
had a fantastic week and will certainly be back. Great apartment in a fantastic location on a fantastic island. Shouldn't have left it 25 years to return…”
DH & DH - Middlesbrough, England - September 2013

 “We had a really good time on Mull and the Isles.
The cottage only added to our experience. We have been on Mull many times, staying in both cottages and hotels all over the island and love everything about it - Back Brae Lodge was ideal for our stay in Tobermory, also allowing us to spread our travels to other areas both on the islands and mainland during our stay. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. Bedding, hot water, towels etc all as one would require. The Internet access was a bonus. We were fortunate to only need any heating for a short period one night and was easy to use and efficient. We really enjoyed the cottage and would stay again. We would definitely recommend Back Brae Lodge to anyone. We will definitely be back to the Isle of Mull.”
JW & KW - Manchester, England - August 2013

 “We had an amazing time,
thanks for allowing us to use Back Brae Lodge. The apartment was clean and modern, towels etc were great as was bedding. The location is just amazing! It's so great to have everything on your doorstep. Thank you, keep up the good work!”
AG - Stockport, England - August 2013

 “We had a great stay,
the house was more than adequate and it was very conveniently situated.”
FC - Motherwell, Scotland - August 2013

 “We had a lovely week on Mull.
The house was very comfortable and well equipped. We hope to book with you in the future as we will be returning to Mull.”
CS - Devon, England - July 2013

 “We enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge
and cannot think of anything that we could improve, everything was fine.”
PT - Oxfordshire, England - July 2013

 “Me, the wife and baby daughter
all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would struggle to fault anything about the house. All in all a great stay, we certainly hope to get back someday.”
MA - Aberdeenshire, Scotland - July 2013

 “We thought the house was very well equipped with everything we needed.
We often have trouble with hot water in cottages, but at Back Brae Lodge no problems. We hope we might come back some day.”
AB - York, England - June 2013

 “Thank you for a great stay.
The house was wonderful and very well located, to access the pubs, shops etc. Everything was very well laid out, fantastic array of books and maps. ”
RS - Manchester, England - June 2013

 “We had a fantastic time
and the house was everything we hoped it would be. ”
AH - Beckenham, England - June 2013

 “Thank you for a wonderful stay at Back Brae Lodge.
Loved Mull and Tobernory. Will recommend to friends and family.”
SB - Bucks, England - May 2013

 “I just wanted to send a quick note
to say thank you very much for a lovely stay. Can't think anything was missing or that anything could be bettered. We had a wonderful time and the Lodge worked beautifully for us. Will definitely be back to Tobermory.”
SW - London, England - May 2013

 “We had a lovely stay thanks,
very comfy bed, cosy and warm throughout. The apartment is well-equipped, particularly the kitchen. The hallway is super for warmth and drying. A lovely convenient spot despite having no views or outlook. Very clean, super literature. Thank you again.”
CB & RB - Merseyside, England - May 2013

 “We had a great stay.
The Lodge is in a great location with excellent facilities, and we would highly recommend a stay there.”
AR & DR - Westhoughton, England - May 2013

 “We enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge.
It was good to have the phone etc and a positive asset to the cottage. We thought Back Brae Lodge was filled with thoughtful and useful items and information... the cottage is a delight. Many thanks once again.”
AD - Kent, England - May 2013

 “We had a great holiday,
our first on Mull but not our last I think! We loved your holiday home, it was warm and welcoming on our return after some pretty hairy walks! We will definitely recommend it and want to stay there again ourselves.”
AC - Leamington Spa, England - April 2013

 “We had a very enjoyable stay at Back Brae Lodge.
It was clean, warm, convenient and everything we needed was there and worked. It was also spacious and bright and we would certainly book it again if we return to Tobermory in the future, and would recommend it to friends and family. Altogether a very enjoyable stay. Thank you.”
MT - Blackford, Scotland - April 2013

 “Thanks again for the rent of the house.
It really is a very good place to stay. We had a lovely rest and felt so comfortable.”
LJ - Rutherglen, Scotland - April 2013

 “We had the most splendid break.
The house was perfect - we were out a lot of the time but it really was in the best location. It was a lovely sized bed and the sheets were clean and fresh with extra blankets for the cold. Perfectly clean, lovely fluffy towels, easy to find, parking not a problem - although I don't know if it would be more difficult at the height of the season but there isn't much you can do about that!”
CL - Taunton, England - April 2013

 “We had a lovely time on Mull and very much enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge.
This was our first visit to the island, we were bowled over, and the weather was glorious! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and do plan to return. Back Brae Lodge is great - clean, comfortable and well-equipped.”
JW - Edinburgh, Scotland - April 2013

 “We were delighted with the accommodation and its facilities.
We really can't fault anything, not even the littlest thing. The Lodge was lovely, the features and facilities were excellent and it was warm and inviting, especially after a long cold day seeing the rest of Mull and tiring us and the dog out. I would recommend Back Brae Lodge to anyone and I will recommend it to my friends and relatives. Thanks again for making our belated return to Mull so rewarding and the Lodge was the icing on the cake.”
JJ & TJ - Warrington, England - April 2013

 “We loved our stay in Tobermory and Back Brae Lodge.
The house is cosy and homely, set in the perfect location for walking to the colourful shops dotted along the harbour. Although our trip to Mull and Tobermory this time was short, we will certainly be coming back in the future!”
HW - St Andrews, Scotland - February 2013

 “We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Back Brae Lodge.
Everything was superb and, as always, just what we needed. As for suggestions, I don't really have any! The place is well equipped and was perfect for our needs. Thanks again Kenny and look forward to hopefully staying with you next year.”
BW - Lancs, England - February 2013

 “We had a lovely stay in Mull
and found the cottage to be comfortable, clean and well-equipped. The location is great for shops/restaurants and we would definitely like to return sometime. We couldn't fault the cottage, it was perfect for the three of us and good value too.”
JW & MP - Glasgow, Scotland - February 2013

 “We had a lovely time in Mull
and would like to return sometime soon as we still have a few places to see. Back Brae Lodge was first class. Clean and tidy on arrival and had everything and more that we required for our stay. The lodge is exceptionally well equipped with good quality appliances and utensils. The welcome gift was much appreciated.”
JW - Glasgow, Scotland - February 2013