Tobermory Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation on Mull at Back Brae Lodge
Make a Booking Send an Enquiry

Tobermory Holiday Reviews 2014

Mull & Tobermory Restaurant & Activity Reviews

 “We had two great walks
and we particularly appreciated the maps. We'd like to explore more of Mull on foot and/or bike. ”
GC - London, England - November 2014

 “Tobermory was lovely
and had everything we needed. We loved our stay on Mull and saw four otters at Calgary Bay.”
AA & CA - Northamptonshire, England - September 2014

 “We loved the lighthouse walk
and in fact did this numerous times in all sorts of weather, also Aros Park which we found lovely. We loved the fact that we could park the car and just leave it. We did go to Calgary Beach which was amazing, and we had a fantastic walk there too. The scenery and drive there is absolutely breathtaking. The little arts and crafts studio and cafe there is fantastic with a great choice of food and lovely friendly staff. We were disappointed that the Tobermory Distillery was closed but what a wonderful job the workmen were doing to complete it. We did a lot of fishing and caught mackerel which were delicious. Fantastic to see a cinema bus visits as well. MacGochan's Restaurant and bar was superb, we spent many an evening there by their lovely log burner, then strolled back to the Mishnish for a last drink. We didn't eat out a lot but did go to the bakery for breakfast once and that was lovely, Cupan did a lovely lunch as well. One thing that I found very disappointing and was quite surprised by really, my daughter fancied some chips one evening so we walked along to the fish van, expecting to get some delicious proper chips to find that they were oven chips deep fried - definitely not proper chips! I hope all the people from around the world don't think they are our proper chips! I think the only other thing I would request to alter if I could would be the opening hours of the cafes, I think they should be open for longer in the evenings. The holiday was relaxing, the views amazing, people lovely.”
LJ & JE - Leeds, England - August 2014

 “It wasn’t our first time at Tobermory
so we knew the area a bit. While we were there we did some tremendous walks around the North Mull Coast which was beautiful, and Ulva where we had a close encounter with a pair of sea eagles. We enjoyed really excellent trips, one with the Sea Life Centre on wild life cruise, where we saw whales, basking sharks, porpoises and a whole pod of dolphins leaping around. The second was with Turus Mara to Staffa, which was great. It was a tremendous week with a couple of super meals out (Cafe Fish and The Western Isles).”
TH - Carlisle, England - August 2014

 “We had a really good week.
With the British weather it is so hard to determine what the weather is going to be like from one day to the next! We stayed in Tobermory in November, so knew our way round a little bit already, but wanted to return as some of the restaurants were closed and there were no boat/RSPB trips running at that time. Numerous walks to Loch Frisa, up Speinne Mor and the lighthouse. This time we ate in Cafe Fish three times - the food is AMAZING and the staff are lovely too. We managed to do the RSPB trip, which was great and saw two sea eagles. Well worth doing and it's only £8 each. We booked a 2-hour boat trip but unfortunately this had to be cancelled because there were insufficient people booked on for it to run. Fish and chip van - yummy!”
JS & GM - West Midlands, England - May 2014

 “Facilities in Tobermory were great,
we had fish and chips from the quay the first night, catered from the Co-Op and Tobermory Bakery on two nights and treated ourselves to the Western Isles Hotel one evening. Mull overall was a great location, fabulous scenery, very kind and helpful people and the wildlife great - eagles and otters. We were also pleased that you had ordered such good weather for us - we barely saw any rain in 12 days and were at no time beaten off doing anything by the weather. We cycled about 100 miles and walked over 50 during our stay on the island.”
HT & PT - Essex, England - May 2014

 “The weather was excellent.
We took a boat trip to Staffa and Lunga on a Sunday and the conditions were ideal. A wonderful weekend.”
RA - South Carolina, USA - April 2014

 “Finally made to Iona
after two previous attempts, truly wonderful place. Love Mull, so many similarities with my other favourite spot, Connemara.”
VF - Edinburgh, Scotland - April 2014

 “Tobermory is a gem.
We met The Tobermory Cat on night 1 and also 19-year-old Mr McGinty in the street at his pub! We sought out Angus Stewart and bought some copies to bring home as we are moggies lovers! People in town were very friendly, notably at the fish and chip van, the new tea rooms recently opened on Main Street, the candle shop and in the street, particularly those with cute dogs to pat! We tried the lighthouse walk but the track was blocked by a fallen tree. We were a bit unrealistic about distances overall and did find the single track road a bit of a challenge, though we got better after a few trips. We made a day pilgrimage to Iona and loved it! Such a long way - did not research distance enough at home. We went to Governor MacQuarrie's mausoleum and found it a very moving monument in a delightfully peaceful place. We loved the sea loch on the way to the Ulva ferry and stayed there for some time - we think we saw otters frolicking in the near distance but couldn't be sure without binoculars.”
MR & DR - Sydney, Australia - March 2014

 “Having got Ben More off my tick list
we will definitely come back for another lovely holiday, out of main season again, which we really appreciated.”
PC & JC - Bonnyrigg, Scotland - March 2014

 “We loved the fish and chip van
and we had a good meal at the Mishnish.”
SN - London, England - March 2014

Tobermory Holiday House Reviews from Back Brae Lodge Guests

 “Just wanted to say thank you
for the rental of your property Back Brae Lodge, Tobermory. Lovely warm and clean and great for local activities.”
SM - Fife, Scotland - December 2014

 “Thank you for the beautiful cottage we stayed in
whilst visiting Tobermory. It was absolutely perfect, I really don't think you could change a thing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge and look forward to having another trip there in the future.”
HO - Lancashire, England - December 2014

 “We had a fantastic time at Back Brae Lodge,
very much appreciated. It was beautifully clean and warm when we arrived, plenty of bedding, the notes/instructions were great, the kitchen very well equipped and it's altogether a wonderfully spacious, cheery, easy place to stay. All three of us would be keen to stay at Back Brae Lodge again.”
GC - London, England - November 2014

 “We had a wonderful time,
the house was amazing, there is nothing I can tell you to improve it as it was perfect. Happy to recommend the house to future guests. Thank you again and all the best.”
MF - Dumfries, Scotland - October 2014

 “We had a great few days
made even better with the sunshine that decided to shine for the whole three days. Mull now gearing up for the rally! Your house was ideal for our stay, it had everything we needed and was very cosy and warm, there was plenty of hot water, had a well equipped kitchen and in a great position. Thank you for the welcome basket and the soaps... much appreciated. We hope to visit again in the future and will certainly recommend Back Brae Lodge to our friends.”
JB & RB - Fife, Scotland - October 2014

 “We absolutely loved Mull, Tobermory and your place.
Everything was spot on. The only thing is, you don't give yourself enough credit, I would advertise more the extra stuff you provide (tea, coffee, salt, pepper) and also the guides and maps. And we got quite lucky with the weather, mostly dry and sunny. We would definitely stay with you again. ”
JM - Glasgow, Scotland - October 2014

 “The cottage suited our needs,
very clean and tidy and loads of useful cooking utensils.”
AA & CA - Northamptonshire, England - September 2014

 “Our stay in Back Brae Lodge was just perfect.
The lodge was immaculate when we arrived, the position off the road is amazing, just right on the doorstep of everything and is a little gem of a property (you lucky lucky person, wish it was mine). Everything was there that was required, in fact more than enough, towels etc in ample supply, a excellently equipped kitchen. Plenty of hot water. We found the dryer an absolute godsend as we could wash and dry our walking gear for the next day. Fantastic having wooden floors as so easy to keep clean. Our dogs loved the downstairs area and lay there most of the time, when we were in. Parking in Tobermory is easy and even if you have to leave your car in the Ledaig car park, the walk back to the Lodge is gorgeous. Lodge perfect in every way, I most certainly will be back and would recommend it to my friends and family.”
LJ & JE - Leeds, England - August 2014

 “We had a great stay
and Back Brae Lodge was fine.”
BA - Glasgow - June 2014

 “We had a great stay in Back Brae Lodge.
It is a lovely cottage and we had a fab stay. The cottage is well stocked and facilitated. It has a warm, friendly feel and has a perfect central location.”
PE & BE - Dundee, Scotland - June 2014

 “We had a lovely time in Back Brae Lodge.
The house is very well appointed, and we could not fault it. Given its location, Back Brae Lodge is a first class choice for self catering in Mull.”
DD & JR - Scotland - May 2014

 “Thank you for a lovely stay in your beautiful cottage.
No trouble finding anything - your instructions to use appliances are brilliant. Your cottage has everything you could possibly need and is very well equipped, and very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Location is just brilliant!”
JS & GM - West Midlands, England - May 2014

 “Thank you for the lovely stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We had a wonderful time. ”
LS & NS - Barry, Wales - May 2014

 “Everything was easy to find
and the house was well-equipped, warm and spacious. We particularly liked the upside-down living although we kept talking about going downstairs when we were in the bedroom and vice versa. Towels, cleaning stuff and tea and coffee were all welcome items as we were on bikes and had reduced our kit to the bare minimum. We would definitely recommend the island and Back Brae Lodge to our friends as a holiday destination. ”
HT & PT - Essex, England - May 2014

 “We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Scotland
and Easter weekend in Tobermory and Back Brae Lodge was the perfect way to cap it off. We all fell in love with Tobermory and have already begun planning a return trip. When we first arrived at your flat my 15-year-old daughter announced she would like to live there. Everything was perfect - the welcome basket was an especially nice touch. Thank you for sharing Back Brae Lodge, it was ideal setting for a memorable short break.”
RA - South Carolina, USA - April 2014

 “Loved it - what a spot.
Will spread the word. You have a beautiful apartment for sure, very clean.”
VF - Edinburgh, Scotland - April 2014

 “Thanks for letting us stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We loved your place and our time in Tobermory. We particularly loved the mood of the upstairs and felt very much at home. Appreciated all the house info, very clear and very helpful! You've gone to no end of trouble to make things easy to work, improve comfort and provide useful information. We will recommend your place very highly and would love to return some day. Overall we'll give it 5 stars! ”
MR & DR - Sydney, Australia - March 2014

 “Accommodation could not have been better
or more suitable in terms of facilities, location, cleanliness, comfort etc. Absolutely no criticism. It was my first trip to Mull since I was wee boy back in 1964 and it was my wife's first ever trip.”
PC & JC - Bonnyrigg, Scotland - March 2014

 “The house was lovely and conveniently located.
The amenities were good and everything was clean. We had enough towels and bed linen for our stay. We really enjoyed our stay in Tobermory. ”
SN - London, England - March 2014

 “We had a wonderful time in Tobermory and loved the cottage.
It was perfect, we are hoping to return next year again March and bring my mum along with us. We thoroughly enjoyed it and found everything we needed in the cottage, it was fab!”
ELF - West Yorks, England - March 2014

Tobermory holiday activities - fishing boats moored at the pier
Tobermory fishing boats