Tobermory Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation on Mull at Back Brae Lodge
Make a Booking Send an Enquiry

Tobermory Holiday Reviews 2015

Mull & Tobermory Restaurant & Activity Reviews

 “We loved the Mishnish pub
and had two lovely pub meals there, however we made the mistake of ordering off the restaurant menu on our last night only to be extremely disappointed. We had our best sightings of otters to date!”
JM - Isle Of Man - December 2015

 “We enjoyed the walks to the coastline and Aros Park.
Everyone was really friendly and helpful in the village and we even had a personalised tour of the museum by someone who offered us a lift from the ferry port. The buses were not that frequent to and from the port but the whole trip was an adventure for us finding this beautiful location.”
I & M - Gloucestershire, England - December 2015

 “Our highlights were Calgary Bay,
Cafe Fish, Tobermory Bakery and our 9-month-old son enjoying the touch pad at the aquarium! ”
EA & RA - Inverclyde, Scotland - September 2015

 “Lots of walks, boat trip to Iona, sampled a few pubs.
Mishnish is cosy. Had a massage at the beauty salon - excellent. Enjoyed an Indian takeaway.”
RD - England - August 2015

 “Because we had very busy days, we ate in every night but one
and I have to say that Cafe Fish was the only aspect of the holiday that didn't live up to expectations, the fish was great, but we didn't feel particularly comfortable sitting in front of the door and the music was so loud it was difficult to have a conversation, but each to their own! The Pier fish and chips were great and we had a drink in the Mishnish bar where the staff were friendly and the meals looked good value. We bought local meat from the Ardnacross farm shop on the Craignure Road (not really a shop, small building with labelled freezers, put your money in the honesty box) which was lovely, and seafood from the shop near The Hebridean restaurant. We also bought cheese from the Isle of Mull Cheese Company and wished we'd had time to do the tour. We did Staffa and Lunga with Turus Mara, Fingal's Cave was spectacular and the puffins, guillemots and shag nests were amazing, felt like David Attenborough! We had a day out with Isle of Mull Wildlife, which was good, and went to Iona under our own steam - a lovely trip rounded off by lovely lunch at the seafood kiosk at Fionnphort jetty. Pony trekking on the beach at Killiechronan was fabulous, neither of us had been on a horse before but the lady there was brilliant. The aquarium is lovely, ideal if you have children, interesting exhibits and friendly knowledgeable staff. We did the Aros Park walk and the Ardmore shore one, where we were lucky enough to see a slow worm, a lifetime first and a great thrill.”
RD - Nottingham, England - June 2015

 “So much to see and do, we didn’t get to everything.
Great meal at Cafe Fish, three times at the Chip Van, both Chinese restaurants and Hebridean Lodge very good. Hired electric bikes, did Discover Mull Tour, Distillery tour, went to Glengorm Castle, Aros Park is a lovely walk, plus lots more. If you want to do nothing you have all you want in Tobermory, or if like us you like to get out and about as well it's perfect.”
ND - Cambridgeshire, England - June 2015

 “We had a great week, we did lots
- electric bikes, Mull tour, distillery, Cafe Fish, bakery, Hebridean Lodge, MacGochan's, Chocolate Shop, fish van...”
ND - Cambridgeshire, England - June 2015

 “It was great to be able to walk to the local shops
within a few minutes and we found the Bakery and Co-Op had everything we required. There are some great places to eat including the Fish & Chip Van, MacGochan's and Hebridean Lodge on the outskirts of the town. We also had a great meal at Glengorm Coffee Shop. We took a day boat trip to Treshnish Isles and Staffa where we saw hundreds of Puffins and some other sea birds as well as Fingal's Cave. A fabulous day out. We also went to Iona where the sun came out and we saw Corncrakes. Other favourites were Calgary Bay and most parts of the coastline. ”
JB & CB - Bedfordshire, England - May 2015

 “Day trip to Treshnish Islands
and Staffa with Staffa Tours. Day Trip to Iona. Glengorm Castle, and walk up to lighthouse across the golf course.”
JB & CB - Bedfordshire, England - May 2015

 “I had forgotten how beautiful and quiet the island is
and how friendly the folk were to us. Walked for miles using your recommended walks. We believe we saw eagles but unfortunately the RSPB hide was closed due to logging so can't be sure. We had two glorious days in Oban too before we crossed. We picked the perfect week.”
JM - Macduff, Scotland - April 2015

 “We went for a walk at Glengorm Castle, out to Dun Ara.
That was great in the great weather we had but even better was the coffee shop at Glengorm. We liked the Isle of Mull Cheese place too, though it's a bit strange not having the cafe open at weekends but really nice the way they leave the shop part open with an honesty box.”
PZ - Edinburgh, Scotland - April 2015

 “We had a wonderful time.
The only slight downside was the weather. I say slight because although I love stormy weather, our daughter wouldn't have been too comfy being dragged about cycling with us in her bike trailer, so we didn't manage to get any cycling done. There was still plenty for us to explore by car and on foot. We especially liked Carsaig Bay with the seals welcoming us and the eagles above. Lochbuie and its old Post Office were in spectacular surroundings. The scenic route back to Tobermory from Fionnphort was amazing. Tobermory was very nice and our favourite thing there was the new aquarium. We wanted to go to Iona, but the day we made it to Fionnphort, the ferries were on amber alert and with the weather set to worsen, we decided not to chance it. That leaves us with another one of many reasons to visit Mull again and again.”
CG - Glasgow, Scotland - April 2015

 “We had a take away from the Indian which was very nice.
We had a meal in the Mishnish sat by the lovely log fire - food was nice. We went to Iona - a gorgeous peaceful island. We walked from Tobermory to the lighthouse and also to Aros Park. I had a massage at the beauty salon in Tobermory - again a lovely experience. My husband went on the distillery tour and enjoyed that. Everyone was so friendly on the Isle of Mull. We also did the walk from Glenmore Castle to Dun I and saw the bathing pool.”
DK - Merseyside, England - March 2015

 “We were lucky with amazing weather
and loved visiting the stunning scenery and wildlife Mull has to offer. Would especially recommend the seafood at Cafe Fish on the harbour, and Langamull beach and Calgary bay.”
KJ - Edinburgh, Scotland - March 2015

 “It was great to have so much information about the local area.
We were able to use a couple of the walk suggestions despite the snow, hail and rain! A lot of places in Tobermory weren't open because of the time of year, but we had a really nice lunch in front of the fire at An Tobar.”
Lisa - London - January 2015

Tobermory Holiday House Reviews from Back Brae Lodge Guests

 “Loved Back Brae Lodge
- we’ve stayed in quite a few properties in Skye, Mull and North Wales and Back Brae Lodge certainly met our expectations! Loved the layout and it is very well equipped with lots of useful 'destructions'. The apartment was very clean, bedding and towels were fine and no problems finding everything. Once again thank you - we had a lovely Christmas.”
JM - Isle Of Man - December 2015

 “The house was fantastic
and had all the amenities especially cookware, bedding and towels. My partner proposed to me in the house so we will never forget it and would love to visit again one day.”
I & M - Gloucestershire, England - December 2015

 “Lovely, cosy and clean!
Had a great time. Thanks.”
SG - Scotland - November 2015

 “Fabulous, can’t fault anything.
Perfect location. Back Brae Lodge had everything we needed and more. The house was warm and cosy. Thank you for the thoughtful welcome basket, the shortbread saved us on our long walks. I would definitely stay again, we will probably be back next year, maybe in the Summer this time! Thanks for a lovely holiday.”
AB - Edinburgh, Scotland - November 2015

 “Back Brae Lodge looked lovely in the photos
but the real thing was even lovelier! Had all the facilities we needed. We really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if in the area.”
ED - Scotland - November 2015

 “We had a wonderful time
and the weather was perfect. Back Brae Lodge was an excellent base.”
LR - Edinburgh, Scotland - October 2015

 “Fabulous time,
the apartment hits all the spots, well furnished clean, very comfortable. Back Brae Lodge a definite place to recommend.”
BG - Dunfermline, Scotland - October 2015

 “We have had three lovely nights
at Back Brae Lodge. The accommodation has everything we needed, it is finished to a high standard from the appliances to the fluffy towels. We have not been able to find fault with our stay (not that we were looking). It has made our first anniversary special, we would definitely return. Many thanks. ”
SP & IP - South Wales - October 2015

 “Wonderful, beautiful cottage.
Really well equipped, we love it all. This was our second stay at Back Brae Lodge and we would both highly recommend it to friends and family. Thank you for making our holiday so lovely.”
EF - Yorkshire, England - September 2015

 “Great accommodations,
spacious, nicely decorated, well-equipped kitchen and convenient. Book on walks and other local information is nice to have at your fingertips. Enjoyed our few days.”
CB - Ontario, Canada - September 2015

 “Very comfortable holiday let in a superb location.
Enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you.”
CP & MP - Co Durham, England - September 2015

 “Thank you so much
for allowing us to use Back Brae Lodge for a lovely family holiday. We had a great time and the weather was kind to us. The cottage is comfortable, well located and everything we could need was provided.”
EA & RA - Inverclyde, Scotland - September 2015

 “Wow - what a beautiful, cosy, homely and relaxing cottage.
We have had a lovely few days here. We loved the Isle of Mull for a short break - now prefer it to Skye where we have stayed for the past three years. Thank you for everything.”
RD - England - August 2015

 “We’ve really enjoyed our stay
at Back Brae Lodge. Thank you so much! The lodge is lovely and very well equipped with everything you might need, and more. I think Mull is the most beautiful place I have ever visited. Thank you once again.”
VB - London, England - August 2015

 “Very nice stay
- walks book a great idea. Generally everything was very good. House well apoointed and laid out, and pretty well everything we needed here. Location very convenient.”
AM & TM - Edinburgh, Scotland - August 2015

 “We had a great stay at Back Brae Lodge
- thank you. The flat was extremely well equipped, with excellent information for both the flat and the surrounding area. We completed and enjoyed many of the walks from the file. We never used the landline to call out but gave it to family to contact us - they needed to, which was reassuring. The books, games and DVDs were great too for the very wet days. On the whole we were out and about making the most of what Mull has to offer.”
KM & GM - Southport, England - August 2015

 “We’ve had a great stay
(despite the weather) and I'd like to thank you for the use of your house, which has been ideal. We have been very comfortable here. Thanks again, and I hope we'll be able to stay here next time.”
RF - Peebles, Scotland - August 2015

 “Nothing to improve
- just a big THANKS!”
AH & BS - Hamburg, Germany - July 2015

 “Thank you very much
for your excellent and beautifully clean accommodation. We have enjoyed our stay here and would come again. Back Brae Lodge is very well appointed - lovely and comfortable, warm, quiet accommodation. ”
KS & RW - Dunbartonshire, Scotland - July 2015

 “We very much enjoyed our stay.
The apartment is fabulous - very clean, tidy and as described. The selection of DVDs, books etc was very much appreciated on wet afternoons, and the guidance provided on walks and other activities was immensely helpful when the rain stopped. We recommend Back Brae Lodge wholeheartedly. Thank you!”
IF & CF - Glasgow, Scotland - July 2015

 “We have had a wonderful time.
Thanks so much for everything. How time flies when you're having fun! We loved the location - so quiet and tucked away but so handy for everything - and the spaciousness - we danced in the back room! We also loved the fast enough WiFi and big TV with satellite channels, and lots of plug sockets everywhere. All the gadgets worked well too. The bed was comfy and the shower was nice. We loved the space downstairs to take off muddy boots and jackets and stuff. The drying rack was great. We appreciated the whisky miniatures and welcome tray and also dishwasher and washing machine supplies. It was helpful to have such clear instructions everywhere too. We loved staying here and hope to be back! Thanks again for being so accessible and for all your help.”
AP - Lancashire, England - July 2015

 “Just arrived home after a long journey
but well worth it, we had such a great time. There is nothing at all I can think of that you need to improve (I did joke that there were no champagne flutes for my fizzy wine, but that was as mean as I could get!). We always stay in self catering accommodation and rarely do we find somewhere as good as this. Your housekeeper is a gem, the place was absolutely spotless. The rooms are better than the photos and the living and kitchen area is great, I have never stayed anywhere so comprehensively equipped. The location is fabulous, right by the Main Street and shops, eating places and attractions, but incredibly secluded and peaceful. We found it easily and never had trouble parking. We had such a wonderful time and cannot recommend Mull, and in particular Back Brae Lodge, highly enough. Once again thanks for being the key to a super holiday. When we return to Mull I would not consider staying anywhere else and will certainly recommend you to my friends.”
RD - Nottingham, England - June 2015

 “We have had a lovely stay
in your very comfortable and well-situated cottage, and have enjoyed exploring North Mull. ”
GW & PW - Preston, England - June 2015

 “Simply wonderful.
Cannot fault any aspect of the accommodation, or Tobermory and Mull.”
RD & PD - Nottingham, England - June 2015

 “We had a wonderful stay at Back Brae Lodge.
It's a lovely, clean, comfortable and welcoming house. It contains all you need to have an enjoyable and very comfortable stay. The books and beautiful artworks add a warm atmosphere. We love Tobermory - such an amazing place. Isle of Mull is full of beauty. We will be sad to be leaving Back Brae Lodge and Isle of Mull. We have had the most brilliant week here.”
JS & GS - Victoria, Australia - June 2015

 “Well equipped house.
We have had a fantastic week here in Tobermory.”
JB & CB - Bedfordshire, England - May 2015

 “Thank you for a fab stay.
Great house.”
VG & IG - Scotland - May 2015

 “We had a wonderful few days on the Isle of Mull
and would highly recommend Back Brae Lodge, Tobermory as a place to stay. The cottage is in a great location and we thought it spacious, comfortable, well-equipped and very clean. Excellent self-catering accommodation.”
TP & CP - Northern Ireland - May 2015

 “Enjoyed our stay.
Will recommend Back Brae Lodge to friends.”
CM - Northern Ireland - May 2015

 “We had a great holiday in Mull.
The weather was wonderful and your house fitted the bill to a T. My companion had never been on Mull and was delighted. Look forward very much to a return trip.”
JM - Macduff, Scotland - April 2015

 “Back Brae Lodge was perfect for us and exactly what we were looking for.
It was clean, had everything we needed. It was nice and warm and cosy, we had lots of fun with the Trivial Pursuit games. Thanks again for a wonderful stay, hopefully we'll return soon.”
CG - Glasgow, Scotland - April 2015

 “Thank you for the use of your beautiful cottage.
We had a lovely few days. The cottage was very clean and we would definitely recommend staying there. The instruction booklet was useful. The cottage provided everything you could want. The bed was extremely comfortable - just what you needed after walking all day.”
DK - Merseyside, England - March 2015

 “Thank you for the most wonderful stay on the Isle of Mull!
We loved Back Brae lodge, it was so comfy and cosy and such a brilliant location. We were so impressed with how well it was set up, felt like a real home and had plenty of room! There were great tips of things to do round the island, games and DVDs for relaxing after a day exploring. Will be recommending to all our friends and family!”
KJ - Edinburgh, Scotland - March 2015

 “We had a wonderful few days holiday in Mull
and the accommodation was perfect. This was particularly important because the weather was pretty terrible, so it was great to have such a lovely place to stay in and stay warm! The house was spotless when we arrived, and even smelt really nice! We were able to keep very warm despite the house being so large... The bedroom was lovely, and the bed was really comfy. Lots of blankets etc to keep warm just in case. The notes for the house were extremely clear... The house is really well supplied with kitchen equipment, books, DVDs and games - we played quite a few of the games and even did a jigsaw.”
Lisa - London - January 2015

Tobermory holiday activities - fishing boats moored at the pier
Tobermory fishing boats