Tobermory Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation on Mull

Book now for a stay between November 2021 and September 2022

2008 & 2009 Tobermory Holiday House Reviews from Back Brae Lodge Guests

2008

  “We had a wonderful time in Tobermory.  
Back Brae Lodge was the perfect place for us to stay, we found everything we needed there. We particularly liked the little homely touches like the collection of children’s programs on DVD and the book collection that we would actually read. The collection of road maps was also put to use exploring the island. The weather was particularly cold and wet on the weekend we were there, but we felt truly at home in Back Brae Lodge and did not mind being indoors. The decor is tastefully modern but comfortable, and there was plenty of space for our son to run around. We will definitely be returning to Tobermory to stay at Back Brae Lodge and we have already recommended it to our friends and family.”
  FM - Edinburgh, Scotland - November 2008

  “We liked the open plan and the use of space and the light modern feel.  
Also the games and books add a personal, homely feel. Have connected easily to Internet using my own laptop. The lodge was nice and warm and we liked being close to all the amenities in Tobermory. Having the phone is another plus. We would certainly recommend it to others.”
  HW - Cumbria, England - November 2008

  “We all had a fantastic time.  
We really enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the island too. Back Brae Lodge itself was extremely cosy and yet the lovely decor was modern and finished to a very high standard indeed. We absolutely loved the fabulous open plan living area which had everything you could possibly need at your fingertips. The location of the house was perfect, being only a few steps from the main street and the local shops. We would certainly recommend both Back Brae Lodge and the island to friends and family. Thank you for all your assistance in assuring our trip was memorable and pleasant. ”
  CK & SK - Cumbernauld, Scotland - October 2008

  “The house is terrific.  
Very central to Tobermory so my car has been parked up all week! The accommodation is very spacious, clean, warm and has everything within the property to make it a proper home from home. It is ideal for a family or for a group of friends. The neighbours are very friendly and I would have no hesitation to recommend your property to others - only if we have first refusal if dates coincide that is! Thanks again for your hospitality.”
  DM - Wigtownshire, Scotland - October 2008

  “We all enjoyed our stay.  
Back Brae Lodge is a great place to use to explore Mull and Ardnamurchan and whilst we went to places mainly in the north of the island we did make it as far as Iona as well.”
  JC - Buckinghamshire, England - September 2008

  “My wife and I found the Back Brae Lodge and Tobermory experience to be absolutely first rate.  
I have no doubts at all about wanting to return, or in recommending it. We have so much enjoyed it - thank you very much for this lovely house and the thoughtful preparation. ”
  JW - Lanarkshire, Scotland - September 2008

  “Superb! Fantastic location and accommodation.  
First class service included, thank you! We had a great time, thank you for providing us with such a wonderful place to stay.”
  MD - Lincolnshire, England - August 2008

  “We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge.  
The apartment was very well equipped and its location was near perfect. ”
  PW - Middlesbrough, England - August 2008

  “Certainly happy to give a ringing endorsement to the lovely house at Back Brae Lodge.  
It was a great surprise to find it was so spacious inside - a real Tardis and everything was a very high standard. I do hope we get a chance to get back.”
  PM - Dorset, England - August 2008

  “Absolutely brilliant location to stay.  
Right in the heart of a very attractive small town, on top of the water front and close to all services. Tobermory is a beautiful place - with welcoming restaurants and bars, and very friendly locals. Back Brae Lodge itself is a well designed, modern open-planned conversion which we found attractive, very flexible, easy to live in. Would we book it again, recommend it to family and friends? Most definitely! What could be better?”
  CH & LH - Gloucestershire, England - July 2008

  “Would be happy to stay again as the location is fab  
- next to The Mishnish Hotel! ”
  LW & DL - Lanarkshire, Scotland - July 2008

  “Fantastic, first class.  
Couldn’t be better, will be back, dream holiday, thank you.”
  JM - Livingston, Scotland - June 2008

  “Was a great holiday.  
First class.”
  PM - Greenock, Scotland - June 2008

Read more reviews from 2010-11.

2009

“Both my husband and I enjoyed our stay in Back Brae Lodge.
We were visiting Mull for a wedding at Glengorm Castle, which was situated in a remote but beautiful part of the island. Back Brae Lodge gave us that ‘home-from-home’ feeling - although it was just my husband and myself, the apartment could comfortably accommodate a family. Access to the local shops and parking was very good. I have already recommended staying at Back Brae Lodge to our family. ”
MS & TS - Newcastle Upon Tyne, England - November 2009

“The house was very good.
Clean, well designed, warm and very well equipped, both with ‘domestic’ items and entertainment kit. Each day we returned with wet clothes and boots but the drying area was ideal, everything being dry for the next day, making it a good place to stay year-round. Parking was not a problem. The flexibility to book it for less than a week (off-season) was one of the reasons we chose it, as it allowed us to use a 5-day return ticket on the ferry and made it a very reasonably-priced break. Since it was 30 years since we last visited Mull, it was like a first visit and we just loved it, so will be back. We would use Back Brae Lodge if staying in Tobermory again, and would recommend it to others.”
LH - Callander, Scotland - November 2009

“Got to say, its a cracking little house.
Perfect for what we needed. Very keen to come back and stay here. Thank you very much.”
CB - Castle Douglas, Scotland - October 2009

“We would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge.
The situation was ideal and we were able to park within twenty yards of the house. The lodge was very comfortable, cosy and warm and we would recommend it to anyone who is going to Tobermory. The upstairs was spacious and bright and the downstairs drying area was great. ”
BH - Birmingham, England - September 2009

“We had a fabulous time in Tobermory, thank you.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Back Brae Lodge to anyone coming to Mull.”
RB - Lancashire, England - September 2009

“We’ve had a brilliant holiday.
Mull is a fantastic place and I wish we’d had longer to explore everywhere. Back Brae Lodge has been a lovely place to stay. The open plan area has been really cosy and a great place to relax after lots of walking and occasional bouts of horizontal rain. It had everything that we could possible need. When we get an opportunity to return to Mull we’ll definitely book again. The flat was lovely and was actually better equipped in some ways than our own home, big TV with digital channels was a novelty for us. We’ve really appreciated the standard of the house and also all the handy notes, local guides and thoughtful homely touches.”
CM - East Lothian, Scotland - September 2009

“We enjoyed staying at Back Brae Lodge.
It’s definitely a great place to be in Tobermory, in terms of situation - you are close to the ferry, to to the ‘promenade’, to everything. All necessary devices and furnishings are given, even up to a dishwasher and a washing machine. That makes it really perfect! The Lodge itself is very bright, clean, convenient - a very nice atmosphere, absolutely suitable to feel at home. Tobermory is really picturesque and nice, no ‘trendies’ or ‘high society’, just normal people, friendly, warm, who like to spend their holidays peacefully. Thank you so much for patiently and kindly answering all our questions and helping us to get things done and so to make us feel really well here! It has been a wonderful and great time at Back Brae Lodge, and we can only recommend that accommodation for everyone who wants to take a first glance to the Inner Hebrides and its culture.”
JM - Weil am Rhein, Germany - September 2009

“Thanks very much for a great stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We particularly liked the big space of the open plan upper floor - great if you decide to spend a rainy day at home. We really appreciated all the home-from-home touches like the books and the jigsaws. And the computer access was a bonus. We’d happily stay at Back Brae Lodge again and will be recommending it to friends.”
SB - Jersey - August 2009

“Thanks very much for a great stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We particularly liked the big space of the open plan upper floor - great if you decide to spend a rainy day at home. We really appreciated all the home-from-home touches like the books and the jigsaws. And the computer access was a bonus. We’d happily stay at Back Brae Lodge again and will be recommending it to friends.”
SB - Jersey - August 2009

“Really enjoyed the break, everything was fine.
A lively week. I’m sure we would look to come back to Mull again. Many thanks.”
KS - Sunderland, England - August 2009

“We had a lovely holiday and the Lodge suited our needs perfectly.
Plenty of space and brilliant location.”
DW - Nottingham, England - August 2009

“We are very happy to be here.
Great kitchen and thankful to be so near the harbour. Everything looks great and we are heading for the harbour to find something to eat (and see the otter). Mull is sensationally beautiful.”
BC & RC - United States - July 2009

“We have had a great week here.
The flat is bang on location and facility-wise. It’s a great place and we would definitely recommend to others.”
SA - Newcastle Upon Tyne, England - June 2009

“Our stay was very enjoyable
- the highlight being seeing an otter in Tobermory! The house was very nice and we have no complaints. Everything was great and we would certainly come again.”
SL & PE - Lancashire, England - May 2009

“Thank you very much for letting us stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We found it ideal for what we wanted. Plenty of room, clean and modern amenities, a proper home from home. We saw all the island during our stay and travelled as far as Iona. I cannot think of anything you could change to make it a more enjoyable location. Again, thanks, and we will be back in a couple of years, I promise.”
PE - Blackpool, England - May 2009

“We have been most impressed with the place and your information pack.
We have really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it to others.”
LW - Surrey, England - May 2009

“We had a great stay at Back Brae Lodge.
We would definitely consider it again. The central location was ideal both in terms of exploring the island but also proximity to shops, pubs etc. We thought the house was really well-equipped both in terms of technology with the TV and broadband and also in terms of games, books, kitchen equipment, hair dryer etc. There would be plenty to keep you occupied on a rainy day. The central location was ideal both in terms of exploring the island but also proximity to shops and pubs. Whilst we had a bit of a sickly trip to Staffa, when we all got back to the lodge we had a hot bath and a DVD and felt much better! I loved the modern interior and open plan kitchen/diner which was really sociable and has made me really want to do up our own house!”
SG - Fife, Scotland - May 2009

“We had a great time!
The apartment was perfect. It is ideally located just off the Main Street of Tobermory, which was very handy for popping down to the Co-Op and the deli for provisions. The apartment was in excellent condition and had lots of space. We visited at Easter and the weather was amazing.”
PN - Sheffield, England - April 2009

“We had a lovely stay in Mull and were delighted with the accommodation.
It was lovely having so much space (especially for drying our walking gear) and the cottage was very well equipped. We particularly appreciated the selection of maps, books and games. We will be sure to keep you in mind for any future trips to Mull.”
AA - Aberdeen, Scotland - February 2009

“I go away fairly often but generally stay in hotels.
Staying at Back Brae Lodge has changed my opinion of self catering breaks completely. Had everything you could have wished for, apartment was very well equipped, immaculately clean, very spacious and extremely well presented, the double bed even more comfortable than the one we have at home. Would have been more than happy to stay longer. Have never been to Mull before but will definitely be coming back (going to do the whale watching that we didn’t have time for).”
RA - Leeds, England - February 2009

“I would like to thank you for providing such a fine little gem of a house,
so close to everything we needed. I have visited Tobermory on quite a few occasions and have to say I may not stay ‘up the hill’ again. We found everything to our liking, from the modern easy-to-use kitchen appliances to the slightly more complicated audio-visual box in the corner. We will recommend Back Brae Lodge to all relatives and friends, although fighting the urge to keep this beauty to ourselves. Look forward to a return visit in the near future. ”
PM - Lanarkshire, Scotland - February 2009

“The house is fine.
Very comfy, spacious, warm and in an ideal location.”
HK - Moray, Scotland - January 2009

Read more reviews from 2010-11.