Tobermory Self Catering Holiday Cottage Accommodation on Mull

Book now for a stay between November 2021 and September 2022

2012 & 2013 Tobermory Holiday House Reviews from Back Brae Lodge Guests

2012

“Thanks again for a wonderful stay in Back Brae Lodge.
It really is the perfect location for a Winter break. For people looking at accommodation in Tobermory, I can’t emphasise enough how convenient it is to be tucked just behind Main Street, so all the wonderful eating and drinking options are on the doorstep. Back Brae Lodge is also so well equipped for inclement weather, with the WiFi, satellite TV, books and games. ”
DS - Edinburgh, Scotland - December 2012

“We were very pleased indeed with our stay at Back Brae Lodge
and found all the instructions and advice very useful and helpful. It was extremely convenient for access to everything we needed and we really had no problems at all. We would definitely consider staying again and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Best wishes and thank you for helping to make our trip such a good one.”
FL & MB - Great Chesterford, England - December 2012

“Just to say thanks
- we had a great stay - Back Brae Lodge is fantastic. If you’re planning a trip to the Hebrides then the Isle of Mull should be one place to visit. And if you visit Mull then staying at the magical Back Brae Lodge in Tobermory is a must. It is ideally located in the centre of town, has all the facilities you could wish for and the owner Kenny could not be more helpful.”
AB - Croydon, England - November 2012

“We thought the flat was superb.
We had a great time despite the weather and even met the local otter walking down the main street.”
LA - Borders, Scotland - November 2012

“We had a fantastic break at Back Brae Lodge - thank you!
The property itself was perfect for us - brilliantly equipped with everything we needed (fantastic to have a washing machine and tumble drier to sort our things after days out walking in the best the Mull weather had to throw at us!) and the instructions for all the appliances were clear and easy to follow. The house was spotless, comfortable and very spacious for two people. In addition, it was a real bonus having the maps, walking books and bird guides - real thought had gone into equipping the house. Finally the welcome pack was a lovely surprise and a real treat! Location-wise the property was brilliant - so convenient for all the bars, shops and restaurants in Tobermory, yet managed also to be totally quiet and peaceful. All in all a fantastic break - we’ll definitely be back to Back Brae Lodge! The property was faultless - fantastic location, brilliantly equipped, spotlessly clean and really warm and comfortable. Thank you!”
RW & PM - Derbyshire, England - November 2012

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay
and thought the apartment was great. We regularly book independent self catering accommodation and have stayed in apartments in Scotland, France, Spain and Italy. Usually when you arrive at these places you walk through the door, your heart sinks to find that the owner’s description on the web is hyped up and you’re always a bit disappointed. No so Back Brae Lodge - it’s the first place we’ve stayed where it lives up to the description - actually it’s better than the description. Warm, bright, comfortable and a perfect base for exploring the island. I guess that’s down to the website where there are plenty of clear photos and information and the house notes which are very useful. We’d definitely book again.”
JR - Devon, England - October 2012

“Your house is a ‘hidden gem’,
would recommend it to friends and family. We would have loved to stay longer as I want to do research into my family tree. House was warm and comfy, shopping nearby, plenty hot water, nice layout, novelty going downstairs to bed instead of up.”
EM - Lanarkshire, Scotland - October 2012

“We were all happy with the house…
don’t think there was anything really that could be improved?”
SL - Peterhead, Scotland - October 2012

“Just to let you know,
we had a lovely stay at Back Brae Lodge, the house was lovely, clean and inviting and was so close to all shops, restaurants, pubs… such a lovely place, Tobermory. The house was warm enough, plenty of hot water, clean towels and bedsheets. A great all rounder stay and will recommend Back Brae Lodge to family and friends. Thanking you so much for letting us stay in your lovely house. We will return again.”
CT - Glasgow, Scotland - September 2012

“We had a great holiday.
Back Brae Lodge was fabulous.”
LS - Grangemouth, Scotland - September 2012

“Many thanks for the rent of the Lodge.
We found it to be very clean, comfortable and warm, and perfect for the two of us. It was wonderfully kitted out - we cooked most evenings and found everything we needed. Being able to follow your helpful instructions about heating etc made everything very straightforward. It was the first time I had been to Mull and we had a wonderful time.”
JS & JS - Sheffield, England - September 2012

“We thoroughly enjoyed.
My wife and I wanted to commend you on the standard of accommodation and the facilities offered. You really have thought of everything for the holidaymaker, and the position of the cottage is ideal. We would thoroughly recommend both the Isle of Mull and Back Brae Lodge to anyone looking for a happy and varied holiday in a very homely and well looked-after property.”
AW - Swansea, Wales - June 2012

“Back Brae Lodge was the perfect place to stay in Tobermory,
close to the harbour and Main Street with its shops, cafes and restaurants, but very quiet. The accommodation was lovely, spacious and airy and well stocked with everything we needed and more - like the Internet etc. The bedroom being downstairs was lovely and cool - important when the weather heated up (yes it did!). We will definitely be back to Mull and would hope to be able to stay in Back Brae Lodge again.”
JW & RW - Perthshire, Scotland - May 2012

“The location of the cottage was perfect,
just a few moments walk from the Tobermory pier and restaurants, which was particularly helpful on the rainy days when we could just run around the corner with baby and still get out. With respect to the cottage itself, I had debated whether to book one of the seafront apartments or your cottage, but as you had some outside space and my husband is a smoker went for yours. He was really glad as he could sit out there leisurely in the evening and it is quite private. We really liked the decor and as you would expect with a baby having things like the washing machine, drier and microwave were really helpful! The double room was also a really good size so I could fit the travel cot in fine. We also really appreciated the board games and have become very addicted to IQ2 but were very sad to find they are no longer making it when we searched online for it when we got home! We had a truly wonderful trip Kenny and will be sure to come again.”
DW - Chipperfield, England - May 2012

“I would like to thank you for a most enjoyable stay.
We had a lovely time and the accommodation was first class, very roomy.”
MM - Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland - May 2012

“Lovely little house, great few days break
with the good weather being a bonus, we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.”
RO - Edinburgh, Scotland - May 2012

“We have just arrived back home after a fantastic week in Tobermory.
First of all, can I compliment you on Back Brae Lodge. It was a perfect location, just yards from the quayside, shops, bars and restaurants. The property is a veritable tardis - from outside it looks quite small, but when we walked into the open plan lounge I just thought wow! The accommodation was superb - the open plan living area is extremely spacious, light and airy, well equipped and modern. When we arrived the house was spotlessly clean, and we were pleasantly surprised that previous guests had left things like coffee and tea bags, and cleaning things like washing up liquid and soap powder, which although we didn’t use all of them, I’ve no doubt will be very useful to other users of Back Brae Lodge. So my advice to anyone planning to stay at Back Brae Lodge is, don’t fill up your car with this sort of stuff, wait till you get there and you’ll probably find there’s most things you need and if there’s anything else you do need there’s always the well stocked Co-op just down Main Street. Towels and bedding were plentiful, there was always plenty of hot water for baths and the shower was also good. You have thought of everything, and the utility area is brilliant for drying off wellies and wet washing. I also thought it was very thoughtful of you to provide all those books, games and DVDs as well as the booklet that gave details of walks and what was going on around Mull. There was even a box of spare batteries, presumably for the remotes! We did one of the walks in your booklet, to the Lighthouse, which was a lovely walk for people like us who are not seasoned walkers at all. Parking was not a problem either. There was always somewhere to park within yards of the house. The weather throughout our stay was warm and sunny so we had little need of heating except in the later evening, so it worked fine for us. We were absolutely over the moon with Back Brae Lodge and we have totally fallen in love with Tobermory and the Isle of Mull. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. We will be back, and when we do return it will be to Back Brae Lodge without a doubt. So we would both like to thank you for making our first visit to Mull such an enjoyable experience. We had amazingly good weather too, which made it a fantastic and very memorable week away. I could go on and on about our brief stay in Tobermory but I can honestly say it has been one of the best UK holidays we have ever had. I wish we were still there! Hubby is already talking about selling up and moving up there!”
BG - Morecambe, England - May 2012

“We had a great time in Mull.
We have stayed in lots of different self catering accommodation and found yours to be the best equipped, very comfortable and homely and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful, we will certainly be returning to Scotland in the future.”
JC - Somerset, England - April 2012

“The position of Back Brae Lodge was what attracted me when I found it on the Net.
I wanted to be near the harbour but wasn’t worried about not having a view. Kitchen was really well equipped and found all I needed. And was familiar with the cook top… it took a bit of getting used to, but once you do, it is great. Bathroom was lovely and clean and was good to have cleaning products to use while there. The table was marvellous - I could spread out with the laptop, and have everything to hand, and I really enjoyed the sense of space. The TV was good, and the Humax - well I have one so could operate it! So all in all if I were to return to Mull I would want to stay at Back Brae Lodge without a doubt. Also I have to add and thank Kenny for being available to ask questions - that was greatly appreciated. So thanks for a great holiday.”
MC - Broughty Ferry, Scotland - April 2012

“We spent a very happy four days on Mull at Back Brae Lodge
and were delighted to enjoy clear blue skies and sunshine from beginning to end - most unusual for a Scottish April! Back Brae Lodge was superbly situated, and it was great to descend the Lodge steps each morning and immediately view the harbour and sparkling sea. We thought that your accommodation was first class. You have made creative and imaginative use of the space, and we thought it a restful place to stay. It was beautifully warm to come home to, and also spotlessly clean and comfortable. A lot of thought had gone into the furnishings, appliances and goods for visitors, and this was much appreciated. The booklet of information was well laid out and answered any questions we had, and your supply of books and leaflets, plus the comments of previous guests, were all helpful. Congratulations on achieving a self-catering retreat on Mull which is of the highest standard and in a fabulous location for the holidaymaker on Mull. We shall certainly be returning!”
BA - Perth, Scotland - April 2012

“We loved Back Brae Lodge.
I loved it being tucked into the cliff and being right behind the main street. It has loads of space, everything we needed and was clean and cosy. Having the Freeview and wi-fi was great. No complaints. ”
KG - Edinburgh, Scotland - March 2012

“I’d just like to say thank you
for accommodating us as I know our booking was rather last minute. We found Back Brae Lodge to be extremely comfortable and homely, and was perfectly situated for our requirements. We had a fabulous few days, experienced the magic of Mull, saw a wide range of wildlife and totally fell in love with the Island.”
BT - Cumbria, England - January 2012

“Thank you for letting us stay for those nights, it was great.
We have been coming to Tobermory for sixteen years at New Year and your place has been the comfiest yet. And no hills to climb - we are both getting on so do appreciate the closeness to the pubs, shops and restaurants.”
JW - Aberdeen, Scotland - January 2012

Read more reviews from 2010-11 or 2014-15.

2013

“We had a fabulous six days at Back Brae Lodge
and wouldn’t hesitate in booking again. ”
LD & ID - Sudbury, England - November 2013

“We have just returned from a five-day stay at Back Brae Lodge
and found it to be an ideal base to explore the island of Mull. The accommodation met all of our needs and was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The location was great too, just a few steps away to the main street of Tobermory with a wide selection of eateries and lovely shops. We had a fantastic time and hope to make a return visit soon.”
RH - Motherwell, Scotland - October 2013

“We thoroughly enjoyed our time on Mull
and the accommodation was superb and suited us perfectly. I have no issues with it, other than the lack of a hot tub on the terrace and a maid to make me cocktails while I lounged, it was faultless. Thank you!”
DH - Northants, England - October 2013

“We had a wonderful four days and truly loved Back Brae Lodge
and would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Mull. We loved the space and facilities which were provided, and the location in Tobermory is amazing, so handy for everything - all in all we had a great stay in the Lodge, many thanks.”
MA - Dunoon, Scotland - October 2013

“We really enjoyed our stay in Back Brae Lodge thanks.
Everything was fantastic… Can’t think of any improvements. Had been to Mull before and it was still as beautiful. Can’t wait to come back!”
AD - Staffordshire, England - September 2013

“Back Brae Lodge is a great place to stay,
so convenient for all you need from the self catering aspect and for eating out. Kenny has thought of everything with information on where to eat, what to do, especially useful for the first time visitor to Mull. Even the intricacies of the fan oven etc were detailed! I would recommend Back Brae Lodge whole heartedly.”
JB - Lincolnshire, England - September 2013

“We had a great holiday.
The Lodge was warm and very comfortable. I enjoy coming up and staying in Back Brae Lodge for my September break, for the local Mod. I will let my friends and family know about the house, for their holiday. Thank you once again.”
LS - Grangemouth, Scotland - September 2013

“Thanks for use of the Lodge,
had a fantastic week and will certainly be back. Great apartment in a fantastic location on a fantastic island. Shouldn’t have left it 25 years to return…”
DH & DH - Middlesbrough, England - September 2013

“We had a really good time on Mull and the Isles.
The cottage only added to our experience. We have been on Mull many times, staying in both cottages and hotels all over the island and love everything about it - Back Brae Lodge was ideal for our stay in Tobermory, also allowing us to spread our travels to other areas both on the islands and mainland during our stay. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable. Bedding, hot water, towels etc all as one would require. The Internet access was a bonus. We were fortunate to only need any heating for a short period one night and was easy to use and efficient. We really enjoyed the cottage and would stay again. We would definitely recommend Back Brae Lodge to anyone. We will definitely be back to the Isle of Mull.”
JW & KW - Manchester, England - August 2013

“We had an amazing time,
thanks for allowing us to use Back Brae Lodge. The apartment was clean and modern, towels etc were great as was bedding. The location is just amazing! It’s so great to have everything on your doorstep. Thank you, keep up the good work!”
AG - Stockport, England - August 2013

“We had a great stay,
the house was more than adequate and it was very conveniently situated.”
FC - Motherwell, Scotland - August 2013

“We had a lovely week on Mull.
The house was very comfortable and well equipped. We hope to book with you in the future as we will be returning to Mull.”
CS - Devon, England - July 2013

“We enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge
and cannot think of anything that we could improve, everything was fine.”
PT - Oxfordshire, England - July 2013

“Me, the wife and baby daughter
all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would struggle to fault anything about the house. All in all a great stay, we certainly hope to get back someday.”
MA - Aberdeenshire, Scotland - July 2013

“We thought the house was very well equipped with everything we needed.
We often have trouble with hot water in cottages, but at Back Brae Lodge no problems. We hope we might come back some day.”
AB - York, England - June 2013

“Thank you for a great stay.
The house was wonderful and very well located, to access the pubs, shops etc. Everything was very well laid out, fantastic array of books and maps. ”
RS - Manchester, England - June 2013

“We had a fantastic time
and the house was everything we hoped it would be. ”
AH - Beckenham, England - June 2013

“Thank you for a wonderful stay at Back Brae Lodge.
Loved Mull and Tobernory. Will recommend to friends and family.”
SB - Bucks, England - May 2013

“I just wanted to send a quick note
to say thank you very much for a lovely stay. Can’t think anything was missing or that anything could be bettered. We had a wonderful time and the Lodge worked beautifully for us. Will definitely be back to Tobermory.”
SW - London, England - May 2013

“We had a lovely stay thanks,
very comfy bed, cosy and warm throughout. The apartment is well-equipped, particularly the kitchen. The hallway is super for warmth and drying. A lovely convenient spot despite having no views or outlook. Very clean, super literature. Thank you again.”
CB & RB - Merseyside, England - May 2013

“We had a great stay.
The Lodge is in a great location with excellent facilities, and we would highly recommend a stay there.”
AR & DR - Westhoughton, England - May 2013

“We enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge.
It was good to have the phone etc and a positive asset to the cottage. We thought Back Brae Lodge was filled with thoughtful and useful items and information… the cottage is a delight. Many thanks once again.”
AD - Kent, England - May 2013

“We had a great holiday,
our first on Mull but not our last I think! We loved your holiday home, it was warm and welcoming on our return after some pretty hairy walks! We will definitely recommend it and want to stay there again ourselves.”
AC - Leamington Spa, England - April 2013

“We had a very enjoyable stay at Back Brae Lodge.
It was clean, warm, convenient and everything we needed was there and worked. It was also spacious and bright and we would certainly book it again if we return to Tobermory in the future, and would recommend it to friends and family. Altogether a very enjoyable stay. Thank you.”
MT - Blackford, Scotland - April 2013

“Thanks again for the rent of the house.
It really is a very good place to stay. We had a lovely rest and felt so comfortable.”
LJ - Rutherglen, Scotland - April 2013

“We had the most splendid break.
The house was perfect - we were out a lot of the time but it really was in the best location. It was a lovely sized bed and the sheets were clean and fresh with extra blankets for the cold. Perfectly clean, lovely fluffy towels, easy to find, parking not a problem - although I don’t know if it would be more difficult at the height of the season but there isn’t much you can do about that!”
CL - Taunton, England - April 2013

“We had a lovely time on Mull and very much enjoyed our stay at Back Brae Lodge.
This was our first visit to the island, we were bowled over, and the weather was glorious! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and do plan to return. Back Brae Lodge is great - clean, comfortable and well-equipped.”
JW - Edinburgh, Scotland - April 2013

“We were delighted with the accommodation and its facilities.
We really can’t fault anything, not even the littlest thing. The Lodge was lovely, the features and facilities were excellent and it was warm and inviting, especially after a long cold day seeing the rest of Mull and tiring us out. I would recommend Back Brae Lodge to anyone and I will recommend it to my friends and relatives. Thanks again for making our belated return to Mull so rewarding and the Lodge was the icing on the cake.”
JJ & TJ - Warrington, England - April 2013

“We loved our stay in Tobermory and Back Brae Lodge.
The house is cosy and homely, set in the perfect location for walking to the colourful shops dotted along the harbour. Although our trip to Mull and Tobermory this time was short, we will certainly be coming back in the future!”
HW - St Andrews, Scotland - February 2013

“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Back Brae Lodge.
Everything was superb and, as always, just what we needed. As for suggestions, I don’t really have any! The place is well equipped and was perfect for our needs. Thanks again Kenny and look forward to hopefully staying with you next year.”
BW - Lancs, England - February 2013

“We had a lovely stay in Mull
and found the cottage to be comfortable, clean and well-equipped. The location is great for shops/restaurants and we would definitely like to return sometime. We couldn’t fault the cottage, it was perfect for the three of us and good value too.”
JW & MP - Glasgow, Scotland - February 2013

“We had a lovely time in Mull
and would like to return sometime soon as we still have a few places to see. Back Brae Lodge was first class. Clean and tidy on arrival and had everything and more that we required for our stay. The lodge is exceptionally well equipped with good quality appliances and utensils. The welcome gift was much appreciated.”
JW - Glasgow, Scotland - February 2013

Read more reviews from 2010-11 or 2014-15.